When it comes to tennis, Grand Slam tournaments are the most significant annual events. They attract a large public following, broad television and social media coverage and offer attractive money prizes. Discussed below are the four major Grand Slam tournaments.

Australian Open

The first-ever Australian Open was held in 1905, and since then, it has been held every mid-January in Melbourne Park, Melbourne. It is held on a hard-court surface, and this year’s event was held on a blue GreenSet surface. This tournament’s participants include men’s and women’s singles, doubles, mixed doubles, wheelchair, among others. The money prize for this year’s tournament was $71,000,000.

French Open

The French Open also referred to as the Roland Garros, was founded in 1891 and is held annually in late May up to early June. The tournament’s venue is the Stade Ronald- Garros, and it is held on a clay court. French Open features men’s and women’s singles, doubles, mixed doubles, among others. There was also the introduction of the ball boys and girls who also participate in the tournament.


Wimbledon, also known as The Championships, is held in June-July every year in the All England Club in Wimbledon, London. The Championship is the oldest and most prestigious Grand Slam tournament, and it was founded in 1877. It is played on a grass court. The main events include the men’s and women’s singles, doubles and mixed doubles.

US Open

The US Open is held annually and starts on the last Monday of August and goes on for two weeks. This tournament was founded in 1881, and its venue is the USTA Billie Jean National Tennis Center in Flushing Meadows, New York. This tournament features men’s and women’s singles, men’s and women’s doubles, mixed doubles, wheelchair players, among others.

These Grand Slam tournaments evolved from the time they were founded and have gained fame internationally since then.